Fukuoka, Japan – January 5, 2013, Part One

The sunlight, and the fact that it was so warm that I didn’t need to zip up my jacket, put me in a remarkably good mood. I took the train to what the tourist handbook advertised as the largest underground recreation of a 14th century European street in Asia. Which presumably means there’s more than one?
IMG_1381

It was basically a big hallway with brown metal latticework on the ceiling. But I liked this connecting hallway:
IMG_1384

Fukuoka is a port city, so there were rivers to cross. They were decorated with iron lamps and brick walkways, giving them a European feel:
IMG_1389


I was trying to get a sense of how quiet the city is, but the highlight of this video is the cosplay woman – or was she just dressed up? The fashions in Japan were crazy for both men and women – not for everyone, but the costumed ones really stood out.

Nearby there was a long, sedate tourist market:
IMG_1402

But I preferred walking outside better:
IMG_1396
Cats were everywhere! These were patient enough to let me take a few pictures before dispersing.

Street posters

IMG_1387
IMG_1400
IMG_1403
I think that’s a heavily photoshopped photo.
IMG_1404
IMG_1395
On the wall of a small pachinko parlour.

I visited one of the many shrines, still very much in use by the locals:

IMG_1408
A detail from a 30-foot high statue-totem.
IMG_1410
IMG_1411IMG_1412
An approach to a spot to pray. These lowered slightly as you walked – possibly I’m the only one who noticed due to my height, but that gave them a powerful, oppressive quality, despite their bright colouring.

And, nearby, a rather offensive appropriation of a black power slogan:
IMG_1414

Some contrasts

IMG_1415
IMG_1448

Pepito, the biggest cat in the whole wide world, by day:
IMG_1419
By night:
IMG_1445

Pepito was across the river from the red-light district, full of host clubs. I picked up a host magazine and will blog about it separately. But for now, who’s your favourite? I like Kouichi for his waterfall-hair:
IMG_1418

Opposite, the most unexpected anti-capitalist graffiti I could imagine:
IMG_1416

Particularly since Fukuoka felt nothing like Babylon.

IMG_1422
They’re everywhere and more serious here. They feature a wide selection of ready meals, interesting candy and rows of magazines. Of a weekend-night, men can be found reading them, standing evenly spaced by the window.

IMG_1423
IMG_1421
IMG_1420

Leave a Reply

