Radical Books Part II

I went back to the bookseller. Here’s a selection of other titles hidden in the musty, smoked-worn shelves:

IMG_2340 IMG_2341

This is, I believe, a pirated copy: Korea’s conception of copyright remains flexible, despite stringent laws on the books. But there were many originals, most $4-9, with the highest being $15 for Jameson’s Postmodernism.

IMG_2342

OK, it’s hard to take this seriously, but who wouldn’t want to live in a world swimming with orgones? It always reminds me of the machine from Sleeper:

IMG_2343 IMG_2345 IMG_2346 IMG_2347 IMG_2348

All good choices, and I’ll probably come back for them, but I had to trump for the four volume set I’d had my eye on for a long time:

IMG_2350

Every single topic imaginable that you could apply Marxism to, in a near-mint, unmarked original hardcover set. It goes for $1500 on alibris, I got it for $35. Who says Marxism can’t be profitable? Not in the Marxist sense of course, no surplus value was generated, it’s just usury. But after months of sliding into debt, it’s nice to have the usury work in my favour for once.

2 thoughts on “Radical Books Part II

  1. These are quite amazing showing up in limited English Korea. Maybe from U. libraries or from collections received free from publishers by like-minded professors?

Leave a Reply

