Japanese postmodernism

By which I mean, stripping signs of any connection to what they point to, allowing new meanings – or a complete lack of meaning – to be applied to conventionally loaded terms. I don’t approve of it, but I react. It works precisely because I still think words and gestures have some socially-defined meaning, otherwise I wouldn’t be shocked. It’s a bit like Lisa’s advice on how to defeat the advertisers – just don’t look – but I came to Japan in order to look. So here are a few:IMG_4766I’ve used ‘blatant localism’ as a curse more than once, but I never expected to see it in neon, selling clothes.

IMG_2691I always thought there was something fascist about German folk characters, and now I have proof.IMG_4688I honestly don’t think I could wear this.

Leave a Reply

