Food, art and fashion of Seoul

What it says on the tin.

Food

At one of the many, many open-plan cafes in Hongdae. This is a choco-tini and pecan pie.

IMG_3023

This is a latte martini at Coffeelec, a boutique coffee shop with an award-winning and handsome barista. Here he’s mixed creme, vodka, espresso and chocolate. These probably give the impression my tastes are childish/decadent. I enjoy plain espresso, but on weekends I need to feel I’m living large.

IMG_3149

Art

This is aA Design Museum in Hongdae, the Soho of Seoul. The owner collects 1960s decor and arranges it in a giant concrete space. You can sit on curvy, wooden things and order cake.

 IMG_2199

The basement is equally large but under renovation; last I looked, the bar had lights and there was a giant paper mache shark being affixed to the ceiling. In the stairwell, a lego-octopus chandelier:

IMG_2200

A little room with no apparent purpose in the stairwell between floors:

IMG_2203

Salaryman goat in Hongdae:

IMG_2596

And his uncouth American cousin inside the store:

IMG_2598

I haven’t been into Cafe Brick yet, but its vintage Vespa and sidecar are glorious:

IMG_2597

IMG_2308

Fuck yeah. I never thought I’d see this in Korea – it’s the kind of thing everybody thinks and no one says, at least openly.

IMG_2960 IMG_2967

IMG_2409

Don’t know what this jewelry store was going for, but it succeeds as creepy. Why is she naked, why is she stuck on by her face?

IMG_2411 IMG_2441

Swastikas are a common sight here, since they’re Buddhist icons. But for a thematically-pleasing misinterpretation, I like the communist-fascist-pacifist spread here:

IMG_2573

Fashion

English clothing

To be precise, English messages on clothing.

IMG_2204

“Water levels are rising because Jesus is crying.”

IMG_2410

Occasionally I spot designers who genuinely have a message. This is a nice summary of the temporary nature of capitalism:

IMG_2913

If only:

IMG_3248

Actually ‘working class hero’, but I prefer this:

IMG_2917

Shops

“All women shall be happy only for the fact that they are woman.” That’s as feminist as you’re likely to get in Apgujeong, the equally-upscale fashion district next to Gangnam.

IMG_2405

A boutique in Doota, one of the megamalls in Dongdaemun, downtown Seoul. It seemed fitting after my last post.

IMG_3247

“I’m so intelligent.”

IMG_2919 IMG_2918

Fashionistas

I spotted this guy on the subway. The superhuge glasses look good on Koreans and ridiculous on everyone else. I don’t know why. Also check out the studs on his Converse.

IMG_3143

Finally, as a reward for making it this far, one of the most fashionable women in Seoul. My girlfriend had actually spotted her a few months earlier, which isn’t easy in a city of 10 million, but she obviously stands out. I wouldn’t have had the courage to approach her on my own, but my girlfriend was with me and agreed I needed this photo for my blog. So I caught up to her outside the subway gate in Gangnam, explained I kept a blog and asked if I could take her photo. She graciously assented. Note not just the giant spectacles but the winged sandals, black leather accessories and translucent sleeves. And as a composition, I really like this photo: the colours work, and the moving, glancing passersby contrast well with the still model. Yes, this woman is uncommon; no, she’s not the only one pursuing a ‘post-goth out for a summer stroll’ look and pulling it off. People have criticized Korean fashion for being endless variations on the same theme, but there are people taking a standard repertoire and doing some amazing things with it.

IMG_2916

Leave a Reply

